Buddhist Manuscripts from Gandhāra
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Overview

The Buddhist Manuscripts from Gandhāra project has been designed by Stefan Baums (Munich) and Ingo Strauch (Lausanne) and developed together with Jens‐Uwe Hartmann (Munich) and Harry Falk (Berlin). It consists of three areas of research (‘Gāndhārī Literature,’ ‘Gāndhārī Language’ and ‘Database’) and two phases (2012–25: editing of source texts and building of the database, and 2026–2032: completion of the Dictionary of Gāndhārī and preparation of a Historical Grammar of Gāndhārī, Paleography of Kharoṣṭhī, and History of Gandhāran Literature and of Buddhism in Gandhāra).

In their text editions, the project’s contributors focus on the Abhidharma (scholastic) and Mahāyāna literature of Gandhāra, representing the formative phase of two intellectual and religious currents that became foundational for the further development of Buddhism in South Asia and beyond. The editorial division of labor is as follows:

Stefan Baums: two commentaries on early Buddhist verses (NirdL1 and NirdL3); a commentary on the Saṃgītisūtra (SaṅgCm, in collaboration with the Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); four verse compositions in praise of the Buddha (StoB1, StoB2, StoL and BC 17); a scholastic treatise (AbhidhL2, in collaboration with the Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); and fragments of commentaries (AbhidhB1, AbhidhB2, AbhidhB3, AbhidhB4, AbhidhB5, AbhidhL1 and CmL2).

Harry Falk: early Buddhist verse collections (Arthp and DhpSp); the Perfection of Wisdom Mahāyāna sūtra (ASP); a verse composition on the life of the Buddha (SC 2); and a collection of religious stories (AvSp).

Jens‐Uwe Hartmann: Sanskrit manuscripts from Gandhāra.

Gudrun Melzer: a Buddhist abecedary (BC 5); a business document (BC 15); a doctrinal text on meditation (BL 26+29, in collaboration with the Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); and Gāndhārī manuscript fragments (BL 8, BL 11, BL 19, BL 21.1, BL 22, BL 24 and BL 27).

Andrea Schlosser: a Mahāyāna sūtra about the prophecy of becoming a buddha with one’s own buddha land (MSūB, in collaboration with Ingo Strauch); fragments of Mahāyāna texts (BC 4, BC 6, BC 11 and BC 19); and a treatise on statecraft (Rn, in collaboration with Ingo Strauch).

The Dictionary of Gāndhārī is jointly edited by Stefan Baums (Munich) and Andrew Glass (Seattle). In its first phase, the Buddhist Manuscripts from Gandhāra project contributes to the completion of the Dictionary of Gāndhārī database, and in its second phase to the final redaction of the Dictionary. In the first phase of the project, Stefan Baums prepares a concise Working Grammar of Gāndhārī on the basis of the Dictionary database; in the second phase, this Working Grammar is completed and elaborated into a Historical Grammar of Gāndhārī. Also in the second phase of the project, the members of the project prepare a complete Paleography of Kharoṣṭhī (in collaboration with Andrew Glass) and contribute to a comprehensive History of Gandhāran Literature and of Buddhism in Gandhāra.

Buddhistische Handschriften aus Gandhāra
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Überblick

Das Vorhaben »Buddhistische Handschriften aus Gandhāra« wurde von Stefan Baums (München) und Ingo Strauch (Lausanne) konzipiert und gemeinsam mit Jens‐Uwe Hartmann (München) und Harry Falk (Berlin) ausgearbeitet. Es umfasst drei Forschungsbereiche (Gāndhārī-Literatur, Gāndhārī-Sprache und Datenbank) und verteilt sich auf zwei Phasen (2012–2025: Edition der Quelltexte und Ausbau der Datenbank, 2026–2032: Vervollständigung des Dictionary of Gāndhārī und Vorbereitung einer Historischen Grammatik der Gāndhārī, einer Paläographie der Kharoṣṭhī, und einer Literatur- und Religionsgeschichte des Buddhismus in Gandhāra).

Bei den Texteditionen konzentrieren sich die Projektarbeiter auf die Abhidharma‐Literatur (Scholastik) und Mahāyāna-Literatur Gandhāras, in der sich die formative Phase zweier intellektueller und religiöser Strömungen widerspiegelt, die für die weitere Entwicklung des Buddhismus in Südasien und darüber hinaus grundlegend waren. Die editorische Arbeitsteilung ist wie folgt:

Stefan Baums: Zwei Kommentare zu frühbuddhistischen Versen (NirdL1 und NirdL3); ein Kommentar zum Saṃgītisūtra (SaṅgCm, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); vier Hymnen auf den Buddha (StoB1, StoB2, StoL und BC 17); eine scholastische Abhandlung (AbhidhL2, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); Fragmente von Kommentaren (AbhidhB1, AbhidhB2, AbhidhB3, AbhidhB4, AbhidhB5, AbhidhL1 und CmL2).

Harry Falk: Frühe buddhistische Verssammlungen (Arthp und DhpSp); das Mahāyāna-Sūtra »Vollkommenheit der Weisheit« (ASP); eine Verskomposition über das Leben des Buddha (SC 2); und eine Sammlung von religiösen Erzählungen (AvSp).

Jens‐Uwe Hartmann: Sanskrit-Handschriften aus Gandhāra.

Gudrun Melzer: Ein buddhistisches Abecedarium (BC 5); ein Vertragsdokument (BC 15); eine Lehrrede zum Thema Meditation (BL 26+29, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Early Buddhist Manuscripts Project); Handschriftenfragmente auf Gāndhārī (BL 8, BL 11, BL 19, BL 21.1, BL 22, BL 24 and BL 27).

Andrea Schlosser: Ein Mahāyāna-Sūtra über eine Prophezeiung zukünftiger Buddhaschaft mit eigenem Buddhaland (MSūB, in Zusammenarbeit mit Ingo Strauch); Fragmente von Mahāyānatexten (BC 4, BC 6, BC 11 and BC 19), eine Abhandlung zur Staatslehre (Rn, in Zusammenarbeit mit Ingo Strauch).

Das Dictionary of Gāndhārī wird gemeinsam von Stefan Baums (München) und Andrew Glass (Seattle) herausgegeben. In seiner ersten Phase trägt das Gandhāra-Vorhaben zur Vervollständigung der Datenbank des Dictionary bei, in der zweiten zu seiner Endredaktion. In der ersten Phase des Vorhabens erstellt Stefan Baums auf Grundlage der Datenbank eine Arbeitsgrammatik der Gāndhārī; diese wird in der zweiten Phase zu einer vollständigen Historischen Grammatik der Gāndhārī ausgebaut. Ebenfalls in der zweiten Projektphase erarbeitet das Projekt (in Zusammenarbeit mit Andrew Glass) eine umfassende Paläographie der Kharoṣṭhī und trägt zu einer umfangreichen Geschichte der Literatur und des Buddhismus in Gandhāra bei.